When you’ve been in a vehicle wreck and are preparing to file a car crash claim, there are many things you will need to know.
Your attorney will have experience and valuable knowledge, and they can handle your case for you. But, if you’re interested in understanding how Louisiana’s laws can affect your car accident claim, here is some information pertaining to coverage limits.
The at-fault driver’s insurance coverage limits will impact your case. When you file your claim with that driver’s insurer, they will only pay you, at most, up to the limits of the policy. So if the other driver has minimum coverage only, this can greatly affect how much money you will receive.
Read on for information about Louisiana’s compulsory coverage limits:
Louisiana’s Minimum Vehicle Insurance Coverage Limits
The minimum, or compulsory, auto insurance coverage limits in Louisiana are as follows:
- Up to $15,000 for injury or death for a single person in a crash caused by the insured
- Up to $30,000 for injury or death for all involved parties in a crash caused by the insured
- Up to $25,000 for property damage caused by an accident the insured driver was found at-fault for
Again, the above is the absolute minimum coverage that all drivers in Louisiana are required by law to carry.
Underinsured Coverage and Your Louisiana Car Crash Claim
As you can see, if the driver who injured you has minimum coverage, then you might be in trouble. Your medical bills alone could far exceed $15,000, and then what do you do? Fortunately, you might be able to file a claim with your own insurance company to receive money for damages.
If your injury damages exceed the limits of the at-fault driver’s insurance policy then you might have to file a claim with your own insurance provider. You can obtain compensation if you have underinsured motorist protection.
You will need to show your insurance provider evidence of your damage and how much you’re owed after subtracting the amount the at-fault driver’s insurance policy should cover. Your own insurer should pay for your unpaid damages, up to your own policy’s limits.
When you’re hurt in an auto wreck, you want the other driver to pay for it. Unfortunately, they might not always have the means to do so. In order to receive the compensation you truly need to move beyond this accident, you might have to use your own policy.
Get in Touch with a Vehicle Crash Attorney in Louisiana
There are a great many factors that make a car accident claim complex, but if you don’t know all the relevant rules and laws, you could end up missing out on the money you need to pay for your vehicle wreck losses. Filing an injury claim is not only helpful, but it can be the difference between winning a settlement and going home with nothing.
Contact Spencer Calahan Injury Lawyers to discuss your car crash claim with an experienced auto wreck attorney. We offer free initial case reviews when you call 225-387-2323, or when you send in the form below.