Over 125 years of
Combined Experience
Get MY Free Consultation

No Fees Until You Get Paid

January 27, 2021

Does Louisiana Have Caps on Damages?

If you’ve filed a personal injury claim with an insurance company or in civil court, you know that doing so can ultimately help you to receive compensation for things like medical bills, lost wages, and related damages. But a common question that many accident victims have involves the limits that Louisiana law puts on the value of damages.

If you’re wondering, “Does Louisiana have caps on damages?” read on to find out how the sort of claim you are pursuing can have an impact on the amount of damages you can receive.

Louisiana Damage Caps on Civil Claims

For many types of civil action in Louisiana, damage caps do not apply to the amount of compensation you are entitled to receive from the responsible party. For example, claims involving car accidents, slip-and-falls, or product liability are generally free of the restrictions levied by damage caps.

There are exceptions to this rule, however. Medical malpractice claims and claims against government agencies do, in fact, have a damages cap of $500,000. But these aren’t the only limits on damages in Louisiana.

Others include the compulsory coverage rule for car accident cases, which stipulates that uninsured victims’ damages cross a minimum threshold before damages can be awarded. The state’s views on comparative negligence could also see your damages reduced by the portion of the accident for which you are deemed responsible.

When in doubt, a personal injury lawyer can help make sense of the relevant factors in your claim.

Contact a Personal Injury Lawyer in Baton Rouge

If you’ve been injured in an accident, an experienced attorney from Spencer Calahan Injury Lawyers is standing by to help with your claim.

Call 225-387-2323 or fill out the form below to contact a Baton Rouge personal injury lawyer from Spencer Calahan Injury Lawyers.