Are There Damage Limits for Louisiana Personal Injuries?
When you file a personal injury claim, it’s a good idea to have an idea of the monetary value of your claim. However, there are some limiting factors, both internal and external to your case, that can limit your compensation in Louisiana.
Damage caps can limit the amount of damages you can receive for a medical malpractice claim in Louisiana. Other factors, such as comparative fault and the statute of limitations, can also impact your ability to recover. Read on to learn about damages limits for Louisiana personal injuries. For assistance filing a claim, reach out to a Baton Rouge personal injury lawyer.
Damage Limits on Personal Injury In Louisiana
In the context of a personal injury claim, your damages is the amount of money you are rewarded as compensation for your medical expenses, missed income, emotional suffering, and other economic and non-economic losses you sustain in an accident.
Although Louisiana doesn’t impose a general limit on the amount of damages you can recover, there is a $500,000 cap on damages related to medical malpractice claims. When a medical professional is found liable for malpractice, they are responsible for up to $100,000 of your damages directly. From there, the Louisiana state Patient’s Compensation Fund will accordingly compensate you up to $400,000 more.
Although these limits may not apply in all cases, extenuating factors, such as the amount of responsibility you receive for the accident and the one-year statute of limitations on recovery, can also impact your settlement—things that compel most personal injury litigants to seek the advice of an experienced attorney.
Contact a Lawyer in Baton Rouge
When you’ve been injured in an accident, an experienced attorney from Spencer Callahan Injury Lawyers will work diligently to win you the maximum possible compensation in your case.
Ready to schedule your free consultation? Call 225-387-2323 or fill out the form below to get started today.